Georgia – 'sakartvelo' in Georgian is located in the mountainous South Caucasus region of Eurasia at latitude of 41-43 degrees north and longitude of 40-46 degrees east covering territory of 69,700 km2 with population of almost 4.4 million, straddling Western Asia and Eastern Europe between the Black Sea and the Caspian Sea. The countrys northern border with Russia roughly runs along the crest of the Greater Caucasus mountain range – a commonly reckoned boundary between Europe and Asia. Georgia is bounded by the Black Sea to the west, by Russia to the North, by Turkey to the southwest, by Armenia to the south and by Azerbaijan to the southeast.